June 23, 2023
Contact:, 202-224-4343

Dr. Paul, Sen. Bruan Send Letter to President Biden Urging Withdrawal of Julie Su’s Nomination for Labor Secretary 

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Recently, U.S. Senator Rand Paul (R-KY), Senator Mike Braun (R-IN), and 31 other GOP Senators sent a letter to the White House calling on President Biden to withdraw the nomination of Julie Su to be Secretary of the Department of Labor.

The Senators write:

“Her track record and unwillingness to provide clarity to her past positions and the actions she would take as Secretary of Labor continue to raise concerns about her nomination.”

The letter voices concerns about Su’s time as head of the California Labor and Workforce Development Agency:

“In her capacity as the head of California’s Labor and Workforce Development Agency, Ms. Su was the architect of a law that forced independent contractors in the state to reclassify themselves as W-2 employees, and she did not hesitate to express her willingness to enforce this law, threatening investigations and audits to the wage claim process for workers who did not comply.”

As well as concerns with how her approach to the franchise business model would affect small businesses:

“Strong concerns from the small business community have also been expressed over Ms. Su’s approach to the current franchise business model, citing her support of California legislation that gave authority to government appointees to make decisions regarding wages and working conditions at independently owned restaurants across the state.” 

Dr. Paul and Sen. Braun were joined by Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell, Senate Republican Whip John Thune, Senator John Barrasso, Senator Marsha Blackburn, Senator Braun, Senator Katie Britt, Senator Ted Budd, Senator Bill Cassidy, Senator John Cornyn, Senator Kevin Cramer, Senator Mike Crapo, Senator Ted Cruz, Senator Steve Daines, Senator Deb Fischer, Senator Lindsey Graham, Senator Bill Hagerty, Senator John Hoeven, Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith, Senator James Lankford, Senator Mike Lee, Senator Cynthia Lummis, Senator Roger Marshall, Senator Markwayne Mullin, Senator Pete Ricketts, Senator James Risch, Senator Eric Schmitt, Senator Rick Scott, Senator Tim Scott, Senator Thom Tillis, Senator Tommy Tuberville, Senator Roger Wicker, and Senator Todd Young in sending the letter.

You can read the full letter HERE.


Share This