Skip to Content

Sen. Paul Statement on Kentucky’s Medal of Honor Recipients

Mar 26, 2012

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The U.S. Congress designated March 25 as National Medal of Honor Day, a day dedicated to Medal of Honor recipients. Since the Medal of Honor was established during the Civil War, more than 40 million Americans have defended their nation, yet fewer than 3,500 have received the Medal of Honor, including five living Kentuckians: Staff Sgt. Don Jenkins of Butler County, Sgt. 1st Class Gary Littrell of Henderson County, Marine Cpl. Dakota Meyer of Adair County, Pvt. Wilburn Ross of McCreary County, and Pfc. Ernie West of Greenup County. Sen. Paul issued the following statement:

"The Medal of Honor is the highest military decoration awarded by the United States government. We must recognize and honor the bravery and self-sacrifice of these courageous men and women. The Commonwealth of Kentucky is fortunate enough to claim five of its sons as medal recipients. While facing insurmountable odds, Staff Sgt. Don Jenkins, Sgt. 1st Class Gary Littrell, Pvt. Wilburn Ross, Pfc. Ernie West, and most recently Marine Cpl. Dakota Meyer, honorably placed the well-being of others before their own. Their valorous actions have made not only Kentucky, but the entire country, proud." 




Contact Senator Rand Paul at One of his Offices

Bowling Green - Main State Office
1029 State Street
Bowling Green, KY 42101
Phone: 270-782-8303

423 Federica St, Ste 305
Owensboro, KY 42301
Phone: 270-689-9085

Crescent Springs
541 Buttermilk Pk Ste 102
Crescent Springs, KY 41017
Phone: 859-426-0165

771 Corporate Dr, Ste 105
Lexington, KY 40503
Phone: 859-219-2239

600 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Pl,
Rm 1072B
Louisville, KY 40202
Phone: 502-582-5341

1100 S. Main St, Ste 12
Hopkinsville, KY 42240
Phone: 270-885-1212

Washington, DC
124 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington DC, 20510
Phone: 202-224-4343