February 16, 2018
Contact:, 202-224-4343

BOWLING GREEN, KY – Today, U.S. Senator Rand Paul issued the following statement after announcing his nominations to the U.S. service academies, consisting of 38 individuals from across the Commonwealth of Kentucky:
“A very rewarding aspect of being a United States Senator is the opportunity to nominate young men and women from across the state to attend our nation’s prestigious service academies. I commend each of these students for their dedication and desire to serve in the United States military, and I wish them the best through the remainder of the selection process. I have no doubt the students chosen will proudly represent the Commonwealth of Kentucky in the service academies.”
Dr. Paul nominated the following individuals to the U.S. Military Academy, the U.S. Air Force Academy, the U.S. Naval Academy, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy:

United States Military Academy
·      Jackson Beal – Gilbertsville, KY
·      Clare Beichler – Berea, KY
·      William Custer – Louisville, KY
·      Nicholas Dennis – Winchester, KY
·      Tyler Cooper – Ft. Campbell, KY
·      Hayden Handel – Dry Ridge, KY
·      Nicholas Kells- Dry Ridge, KY
·      Isaac Marret – Lawrenceburg, KY
·      Joseph Sowards – Bowling Green, KY
·      Rachel Wright- Somerset, KY

United States Naval Academy
·      William Custer – Louisville, KY
·      John Flesch – Covington, KY
·      Ryan Hurley – Louisville, KY
·      Spencer Lett – Ashland, KY
·      Courtland Mitchell – Flemingsburg, KY
·      Luke Nordheim – Butler, KY
·      Tayjon Perkins – Louisville, KY
·      Ryan Samotis – Erlanger, KY
·      William Sweeny – Lexington, KY
·      Dominic Tomcheck – Louisville, KY

United States Air Force Academy
·      Airman First Class Mason Altenbaugh – Cadiz, KY
·      William Campbell – Stanford, KY
·      Hayden Handel – Dry Ridge, KY
·      Ellie Ison – Walton, KY
·      Alli Kearns – Elkton, KY
·      Alan Mateja – Louisville, KY
·      Alexander Mindrup – Owensboro, KY
·      Dane Rueff – Louisville, KY
·      Michael Sanford – Campbellsville, KY
·      Benjamin Waters- Lexington, KY
United States Merchant Marine Academy
·      Ashleigh Cook – Louisville, KY
·      Kelsey Cyrus – Morehead, KY
·      John Finney – Hagerhill, KY
·      Harrison Heist – Ft. Mitchell, KY
·      Ida-Lucie Isenhart – Goshen, KY
·      Quinn Mooney – Lexington, KY
·      Kyle Schrader – Springfield, KY
·      Riley Wharton – Russellville, KY
·      E’Lona White – Elizabethtown, KY
·      Jonathan Whiteman – Bardstown, KY

Share This