May 6, 2024
Contact:, 202-224-4343

Members of Kentucky Congressional Delegation Support Governor’s Request for Federal Disaster Declaration 

WASHINGTON, D.C. –Today, Kentucky’s federal delegation, including U.S. Senator Rand Paul, U.S. Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell, and Representatives Hal Rogers (KY-05), Brett Guthrie (KY-02), Andy Barr (KY-06), James Comer (KY-01), and Morgan McGarvey (KY-03) sent a letter to President Joe Biden expressing their support for Governor Andy Beshear’s request for a major disaster declaration for the Commonwealth of Kentucky stemming from severe weather in April. 

In addition to the severe wind, thunderstorms, mudslides, and flooding that hit the Commonwealth, more than a dozen tornadoes swept through Kentucky. At the height of the storm’s impact, more than 32,000 customers were without power. Tragically, twenty-two Kentuckians were injured and one Kentuckian perished because of the storm conditions.

In the letter to the President, the delegation wrote, “Kentucky has faced a number of Major Disasters in recent years. As you know from your previous visits, in just the past four years, Kentucky has been devastated by some of the worst tornadoes and floods in state history. Kentucky has received eight Major Disaster Declarations since 2020, not including COVID-19. Further, some counties included in the Governor’s request have been included in as many as six Major Disaster Declarations, and thus, federal assistance is needed.

Governor Beshear recently requested a Presidential Major Disaster Declaration, which if made, would unlock access to Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) assistance to mitigate future disasters state-wide and for individual citizens in the following 11 counties: Boyd, Carter, Fayette, Greenup, Henry, Jefferson, Jessamine, Mason, Oldham, Union, and Whitley Counties.

Click HERE to read the letter from the Kentucky delegation. 


Share This