May 16, 2024

 Contact:, 202-224-4343

Dr. Rand Paul Joins Bipartisan Coalition of Senators In Introducing Resolution Recognizing National Police Week


Peace Officers Memorial Day 2024 honors the 226 law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty during 2023


WASHINGTON, D.C. – This week, U.S. Senator Rand Paul (R-KY) joined a broad bipartisan coalition of Senators in introducing a resolution to designate the week of May 12 through 18, 2024, as National Police Week. The resolution honors the 226 law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty during 2023.

“The selflessness and courage of our police officers from Kentucky and across the country inspires us to work toward a safer and more just society,” said Dr. Paul. “National Police Week provides an opportunity to honor their hard work and remember the fallen heroes who made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty. It serves as a solemn reminder of the risks officers face daily and the courage they exhibit while safeguarding our communities.“

The resolution:

  • Designates the week of May 12 through May 18, 2024, as “National Police Week”
  • Expresses unwavering support for law enforcement officers across the United States in the pursuit of preserving safe and secure communities
  • Recognizes the need to ensure that law enforcement officers have the equipment, training, and resources that are necessary in order to protect the health and safety of the officers while the officers protect the public
  • Acknowledges that police officers and other law enforcement personnel, especially those who have made the ultimate sacrifice, should be remembered and honored
  • Expresses condolences and solemn appreciation to the loved ones of each law enforcement officer who has made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty
  • Encourages the people of the United States to observe National Police Week by honoring law enforcement personnel and promoting awareness of the essential mission that law enforcement personnel undertake in service to their communities and the United States.

You can read the full resolution HERE.

Along with Dr. Paul, the resolution is cosponsored by U.S. Senators Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-LA), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), John Cornyn (R-TX), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Mike Lee (R-UT), Chris Coons (D-DE), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Alex Padilla (D-CA), John Kennedy (R-LA), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Jack Reed (D-RI), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Tom Carper (D-DE), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Susan Collins (R-ME), Bob Casey (D-PA), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Jon Tester (D-MT), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), John Thune (R-SD), Michael Bennet (D-CO), John Barrasso (R-WY), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Jim Risch (R-ID), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Angus King (I-ME), John Boozman (R-AR), Tim Kaine (D-VA), John Hoeven (R-ND), Gary Peters (D-MI), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Tim Scott (R-SC), Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Fetterman (D-PA), James Lankford (R-OK), Steve Daines (R-MT), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Todd Young (R-IN), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Mike Braun (R-IN), Rick Scott (R-FL), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Ted Budd (R-NC), J.D. Vance (R-OH), Eric Schmitt (R-MO), Katie Britt (R-AL), and Pete Ricketts (R-NE).


Share This