March 2, 2023

WASHINGTON, D.C.Ahead of Daylight Saving Time, U.S. Senators Rand Paul (R-KY) and Marco Rubio (R-FL) reintroduced the Sunshine Protection Act of 2023 for the 118th Congress. The legislation would end the antiquated practice of changing clocks twice a year.

“The Sunshine Protection Act will allow states the freedom to decide if they want to permanently follow Daylight Saving Time or not without needing approval from Congress. I’m glad to join Sen. Rubio in introducing this commonsense legislation,” said Dr. Paul

“This ritual of changing time twice a year is stupid. Locking the clock has overwhelming bipartisan and popular support. This Congress, I hope that we can finally get this done,” said Sen. Rubio. 

U.S. Representative Vern Buchanan (R-FL) introduced companion legislation in the House.

Senators James Lankford (R-OK), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Ed Markey (D-MA), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Tina Smith (D-MN), Rick Scott (R-FL), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Ron Wyden (D-OR) and Martin Heinrich (D-NM) are original cosponsors of the legislation.

You can read more about the bill HERE.


In March 2022, the Senate unanimously passed The Sunshine Protection Act, sending it to the House for action. Former Speaker Nancy Pelosi never brought the legislation up for a vote, despite broad support among lawmakers and the American people.


Share This