June 6, 2024

 Contact:, 202-224-4343


Dr. Paul, Sen. Ernst Work to Promote Access to Safe, Effective Birth Control


Senate Democrats block new bill that will increase access to and availability of over-the-counter contraception

WASHINGTON, D.C.  Yesterday, U.S. Senator Rand Paul (R-KY) cosponsored U.S. Senator Joni Ernst’s (R-IA) new legislation to promote access to and availability of safe and effective contraception for women and families.

The Allowing Greater Access to Safe and Effective Contraception Act was introduced in the Senate on Tuesday. On Wednesday, after Senate Democrats’ so-called Right to Contraception Act failed to pass due to infringements on religious freedoms and parental rights concerns, Senate Democrats, in a purely political stunt, blocked the Allowing Greater Access to Safe and Effective Contraception Act from being passed by unanimous consent.

“The Allowing Greater Access to Safe and Effective Contraception Act is a step forward in supporting women and families by increasing access to safe, routine, and effective oral contraceptives for adults, while also bringing transparency to how Americans’ tax dollars are being spent,” said Dr. Paul

“Despite the fearmongering from the left, it’s clear Republicans have solutions to support women and families, and they are gaining momentum,” said Senator Ernst. “My bill will increase over-the-counter contraception options while bringing much-needed transparency to ensure the government uses tax dollars to support families. I’ll continue to stand up for women’s access to safe and effective birth control while creating accountability for the Democrats’ radical agenda.”

Specifically, the Allowing Greater Access to Safe and Effective Contraception Act:

  • Increases availability of birth control options on the market,
  • Gives women more access to over-the-counter contraception options,
  • Brings transparency to how government agencies are spending tax dollars to support women and families

The bill is also cosponsored by U.S. Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) and U.S. Senators Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Steve Daines (R-MT), Todd Young (R-IN), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Jim Risch (R-ID), John Cornyn (R-TX), John Thune (R-SD), and Roger Marshall (R-KS).


Share This